Major Writing 2 inspired me to re-read Mary Shelley's Frankenstein as it is one of my favorite books. I came across a section in the beginning that foreshadows Shelley's theme of loneliness and rejection in society that I hadn't previously considered. In Robert Walton's second letter to his sister, he talks about the heartache he experiences as a result of solitude. He specifically says, "I have no friend, Margaret: when I am glowing with the enthusiasm of success, there will be none to participate my joy; if I am assailed by disappointment, no one will endeavor to sustain me in dejection...I desire the company of a man who could sympathize with me; whose eyes would reply to mine. You may deem me romantic my dear sister, but I bitterly feel the want of a friend" (Shelley, 6). This same feelings are expressed by Frankenstein's monster, as he has no one to share his life with. He is rejected by society because of his appearance, and he is forced to live his life in isolation and sorrow. Acceptance and collaboration by and with others is an inherent human need. If this need is not met, humans are incapable of reaching self actualization. As one human race, we should seek to support one another and provide love and compassion whenever we have the opportunity. We need to reject the standards set by society, not the people who fail to meet them.
Shelley, Mary. Frankenstein. New York: Sterling Publishing Co., Inc., 2012. Print.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a first year student at FGCU studying Social Work. I have a passion for helping people, and I too have struggled with the unrealistic expectations of beauty in society. I hope that through this blog, people will be able to find peace with themselves and with society.

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All