As part of my service learning assignment, I sifted through the mountain of clothes in my closet in search of garments that have gone unworn for a while. I found several shirts and a few dresses that I don't plan on wearing anymore. I almost quit when I knew I had reached the minimum requirement for donation, but I continued to sift when I thought about those less fortunate than me. My family constantly struggled with money when I was growing up, so I didn't have a ton of nice clothes as a pre-teen. In middle school, style feels like one of the most important thing in the world. I was teased because my style was very simple and I never wore the brand names. As I sifted through my clothes today, I found shirts from Abercrombie and Fitch, Aeropostale, and Hollister. I considered how important these shirts would have been to me as a young girl and decided to donate them. As I took my clothes to Goodwill, I saw families who were obviously financially strapped. I feel good about my decision to surrender my nice clothes because I know that there is both a girl who will enjoy them, as well as a parent who will be able to purchase them.



Leave a Reply.

    Author

    I am a first year student at FGCU studying Social Work. I have a passion for helping people, and I too have struggled with the unrealistic expectations of beauty in society. I hope that through this blog, people will be able to find peace with themselves and with society.

    Archives

    April 2013
    March 2013
    February 2013
    January 2013

    Categories

    All